(Temporary) changing of the guard…

Hello everyone – while I am close with many of you, and know many of your names and faces, a great number of you remain perfect strangers to me.  However, we are all united by a common cause at the moment: to love and support our most favouritist of Hopkinsons.  “How big is the cause?” you ask – well, to give you an indication, the blog has had well over 5,000 hits in the last 48 hours.  Rest assured Sarah, Marcus and (most importantly) Albie have felt the full force of your words and your prayers…

Sarah has asked that I assume temporary custodianship of the blog for the next wee while.  As you all can imagine, Sarah has a fair ol’ bit to deal with at present – and sadly for all of us, the blog is simply not a priority.  However, she realises just how many of us turn to the blog for updates on Albie’s state, and for an insight on how she and Marcus are faring themselves.  I warn you now that you will not get Sarah’s beautiful ability to convey feelings through words through my own clumsy fingers… but I will try my best to keep you all informed as to how things are tracking while I am here in AKL (and probably after as well)…

THE LATEST

Last night, I stayed with Albie at his bedside in intensive care.  To give you an idea of what this is like, he is hooked up to four very large machines that are doing amazing things to keep him alive.  While these brilliant devices are doing their thing, Albie is resting peacefully and the hope is that his heart is slowly getting stronger.  For the 10 hours that I sat with Albie, his nurse was giving him active care for a good 8.5 hours  – and the other time was used preparing for the next dosage, inspection, cleaning, feeding, or other task.  I have been inspired and bolstered by the level of care he is getting from these amazing people – and you all should as well.

Many of you will have a number of questions… how long before things change? what new risks have emerged (if any)? when will Albie be better?  The short answer is that there is no answer – we all need to try to just be as comfortable with uncertainty as we can be for the next wee while.  The process from here as I understand it is that the staff here will continue to keep Albie stable and rested.  If he progresses well, then his reliance on the ECMO machine will be gradually weaned – again with the aim that his own heart does what it is supposed to do. This weaning may start tomorrow, it may start next week… it may take days to complete…it may take months.

So my hope is that I can contribute to a progressive alleviation of the uncertainty for all of you over this next period.  If you have any other questions, feel free to flick me an email at jcjnnz@gmail.com.  I’ll do my best to respond promptly.  As for sending messages to Sarah and Marcus, the comments links below are their preferred vehicle.  They are often disregarding their phones, but if you really wish to speak to them send Marcus a text message first and he can give you an indication of a good time to call.

I hope you are all faring well – Much love from everyone here for all the support

Jason – aka JJ

