A family lunch

Denis, Marcus’ Dad got out of hospital not long after we arrived in the UK. The infections that had admitted him to hospital in the first place had cleared up, and he came home. But he is far from better, as he has Lewy Body Dementia, a mean and cruel disease. I won’t tell you more than that because he is not my Dad and it is not my story to tell.

Anyway, in the days after he was released, Marcus’ sister Andrea and her husband Paul came up from Chatham with their eight week old bundle Caleb for the weekend. We went for a family lunch in a pub in Old Langho which was built in 1554.  Everyone in the family, except me, ate the pub’s Cheese Pie – a taste for which I clearly need to develop! It was the first time we’ve all been together around a table.

Afterwards, we went out in the spring-time sun – Mums, Dads, Children, Cousins, Aunties, Uncles – and most importantly, Grandma and Granddad.

I wish New Zealand were closer.

lanc16

lanc22

lanc21

lanc19

lanc20

lanc18

lanc25

lanc26

lanc23

